Kogarah Local History Prize 2023

Congratulations to all entrants in the 2023 History Prize for contributing to our knowledge of local history.

Judges were Gail Davis of the NSW State Archives and Professor Richard White of the University of Sydney, both of whom were impressed with the high quality and diversity of the entries.

The awards were presented by Georges River Mayor, Sam Almir at the Kogarah School of Arts on Thursday, 8 February 2024, as follows.

Winner:  Claire Baddeley for The Curious Case of Captain James’ Ostrich Farm.

Highly Commended: Olga Sedneva for The Craft of Faith, Life and Work of John Radecki, Stained Glass Window Artist.

Highly Commended: John MacRitchie for Australia’s First Chain Letter.

Highly Commended: Beverley Earnshaw for The Home Front – World War II. Through the Eyes of a Child.


Alexander Borg – The Impossible Dream.

Garry Darby – The Chinese Market Gardeners at Kogarah.

Yvonne Hawkins – A Day in the Life of Mollie – my Mum.

Bob Horton – Kogarah 1880 – 1920 – A Vibrant Community.

John MacRitchie – The Strange Death of the Mayor’s Wife.

Lindy Scaratt & Cliff Crane ‘ Neverfail Bay is my spiritual home’….The John Siddons story.