Ron Rathbone Local History Prize

Inaugurated in 2006 to honour the former Mayor, Councillor and historian Ron Rathbone OAM, the Ron Rathbone Local History Prize is awarded each year to foster the research and writing of local history.

In the short time that this prestigious competition has been running, three members of the Kogarah Historical Society have been the recipient of the prize.

The first was Janette Pelosi in 2008 with her essay entitled Rockdale Volunteer Fire Brigade. Her contribution will be available for viewing on this site when some copyright issues have been resolved.

Then David Martin won the prize in 2013 with his entry Rockdale Municipal Honour Roll which can be viewed here.

Finally Garry Darby won the prize in 2015 with History of Rocky Point Road. Due to space constraints, this entry has been divided into three portions which can be read here.

Part 1          Part 2          Part 3